Liberal Democrats demand better for Britain. We want to give all our children a brighter future in a fairer Britain where people are decent to each other, with good schools and hospitals, a clean environment and an innovative economy. Read more

Food for Thought with Dr Ian Kearns

Wednesday 9 October 2019, 6.30-9.00 pm

St Mary Abbots Centre

Vicarage Gate, Kensington, London W8 4HN


Join us for an evening of radical ideas to shape the Liberal agenda with one of the country's key political thinkers.

Dr Ian Kearns left the Labour Party in June 2018 and joined the Liberal Democrats because he felt Jeremy Corbyn wasn't radical enough. Previously Acting Director and Deputy Director of the Institute for Public Policy Research (IPPR), he currently serves on the Board of Directors of the European Leadership Network (ELN) which he co-founded.

Ian In a 2019 Social Liberal Forum publication Keynes and Kearns: Am I a Liberal?, Ian writes that

" To define ourselves as moderates is in my view a mistake. It positions us primarily by reference to the extremists we are against rather than the great causes we are for; it implies a belief that small changes to the economic and political orthodoxies of the last 20 years will be good enough when, like Keynes, we must think in much more radical and ambitious terms than that; and it strips our politics of the emotional power that a commitment to fundamental liberal principles has engendered in other periods of our history and ought to be able to engender again." 

Join us for an evening of ideas, party discussions, and meeting fellow residents. There's a light buffet and a discounted price cash bar.

Tickets £10 (members), £20 (non-members)

pay at the door.


Confirmation of attendance is essential

so that we know how many to expect for supper!



October 09, 2019 at 6:30pm - 9pm
St Mary Abbots Centre
Vicarage Gate
London W8 4HN
United Kingdom
Google map and directions
Richard Wood Richard (and Judy) Burnett-Hall Jacqueline Taylor Priscilla Congreve Joel Baquiche David Klar Jonathan Fryer Alexander Nowak Caro Pridgeon Tim Verboven Chris Shirley Noor Jehan Dhanani Michael Cottakis Mark Scorer Soon-Yeng Chiam Premila Hoon Penny Pocock Mike Frohlich Moya Denman Sheila McGuirk Christopher Steane Anne Sheehan Katerina Porter Beatris Head Johnnie huddart Philippa Jill Manasseh David Bendix Rosemary Somers Hugh Dibley Diuska Luppi Paulina De Kadt luisa esposito Sarah Curtis Richard Lewis

Will you come?

Can we keep you updated?

If you submit this form, the Liberal Democrats, locally and nationally, may use information in it, including your political views, to further our objectives, share it with our elected representatives and contact you in future using any of the means provided. Some contacts may be automated. You may opt out of some or all contacts or exercise your other legal rights by contacting us. Further details are in our Privacy Policy at www.libdems.org.uk/privacy

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.